Blogger publicly apologizes for being himself

Sackcloth

by Doug Lawrence

Read the story here

This reminds me of the time I had to send a serial-misbehaving, disruptive sixth-grade boy to the principal’s office.

After a heart-to-heart talk, the principal walked him back and asked me – in front of all the students – if I would let him rejoin the class.

Truth be told, I liked the young man – but for a number of very practical reasons – I just couldn’t tolerate his disruptive classroom behavior – so I was more than happy to exclaim, “We’re all Catholics here – and Catholics firmly believe in repentance and forgiveness – so sure – he can come back to class – but only if we all resolve to work together – so as to make sure this type of thing doesn’t happen again.”

As I remember, the entire class seemed to appreciate the lesson – and some of the children were actually a bit surprised.

From that day forward, “John” became my official class gofer, reader, filer, messenger, and all around utility man. I realized that he just couldn’t tolerate sitting still, so I gave him things to do and permission to stand up and even walk around the back of the classroom – so long as he remained reasonably quiet and considerate. That would not be easy!

Of course,  I reserved the right to let him know when things might be getting a bit out of control.  His parents approved of our arrangement, and we had no more unfortunate class incidents.

Many years have gone by and I occasionally run into John, at Sunday Mass. He still can’t sit still, but he has become a bright, energetic, cheerful and polite young adult. He manages to hold down a regular job and keep the faith – and in my book, all of that counts for at least ninety percent.

I always enjoy seeing him. 

May God continue to bless him – along with all those who struggle to overcome their various personal shortcomings – whatever they might be – by the power of God’s grace – and with a little help from their friends.

2 Comments

  1. Sorry, I just couldn’t get very far into the linked blogger’s navel-gazing. I have my own on which to gaze. Doug’s anecdote was much more interesting…and mercifully brief.

  2. Mark Shea’s “repentance” is a Pharisee vain show. I know for a fact that he has never bothered to contact the people he has hurt privately before he went public with his ‘I’m soooo sorry’ act. If he was really sincere, he would have done his works of repentance first and allow the Heavenly Father and the people he has slandered to praise him. Instead, he pats himself on the back, and says “what a good boy am I”. Nope, he’s just blowing his own horn, like any self-respecting Pharisee.


Comments RSS

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 128 other followers