Mass Question: What to pray when signing the forehead, lips and heart with the Cross of Christ, just before the Holy Gospel is proclaimed?

gospelcrosses

Jola asks,“Exactly what words should we be praying as we make the sign of the cross on our forehead, lips and heart, at Mass, just before the Holy Gospel is proclaimed?”

This is what should be happening during that time:

(The priest or deacon bows before the altar and says inaudibly: Almighty God, cleanse my heart and lips that I may worthily proclaim your Gospel.)

The Lord be with you. And with your spirit.

A reading from the gospel according to… Glory to you, Lord.

Pray as you sign your forehead, lips and heart with the Cross of Christ:

May the Word of the Lord be in my mind,
on my lips and in my heart.

This is the gospel of the Lord. Praise to you, Lord Jesus Christ. (The priest or deacon kisses the book saying inaudibly: May the words of the Gospel wipe away our sins.)

Further study – Free MS Powerpoint Download on the Liturgy

3 Comments

  1. I learned this while in parochial school, during my single-digit years. I will refrain here from any speculation as to when/whether it is taught now, in 2013. I can only hope…

    • I was reading an Online Blog, where the Catholic said, they No Longer Do That, at their Church, but it is in the Canon Law and is practiced since the 9th century! I wish they would Slow it down, so you could actually cross your forehead, lips, and heart! Too Fast!

      • There’s way too much good stuff that we Catholics don’t do anymore”. You are right about this still being a valid and correct thing to do, since it is included in the official ordinary of the the current liturgy.

        Doug


Comments RSS

Leave a Reply

