An Open Letter of Apology to the Gay Community (From A Christian)

sorry

I’m seeing quite a few open letters of apology from Christians to the gay community in light of the recent Supreme Court ruling on gay marriage. At first, I was angry. “What are we apologizing for again?!?,” I thought. As a conservative Christian, I was annoyed. It seemed – at first – to be capitulation on a very important issue. After reading more than a few of these open letters of apology, however, my heart has softened on the issue. I realize that conservative Christians like myself are in the clear minority. The Supreme Court has ruled. Other churches, like the Episcopalians just yesterday, have found it in their heart to soften from their historic, traditional opinions. And as much as religious people love the past, I’ve had to come to grips with the reality that this – gay marriage – is our present and no doubt, our future.

There comes that moment – even for Christians steeped in conservative traditions – to recognize when the times have changed…and the times have changed. Taking a cue from other Christians who find a sense of closure in writing an open letter of apology to the gay community, I will follow suit and apologize for several things on behalf of not just myself, but my fellow Christians.

Read more

2 Comments

  1. I will NEVER Apologize, to Sexual Immorality! Just because, it was sanctioned by The Supreme Court Judges, I will obey the Highest Judge: Christ Jesus! ( PERIOD )

    • Cathy, you need to read the entire referenced article, not just the lead in. It’s well worth your time. I promise!

      Doug


Comments RSS

Leave a Reply

